Susan Swearer

Susan Swearer - (Member)
University of Nebraska, Lincoln
40 Teachers College Hall University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68588-0345
PhD in Educational Psychology, University of Texas at Austin, 1997
Bullying reduction program
Cognitive-behavior interventions
Mental health

Dr. Susan M. Swearer is the Willa Cather Professor of Educational Psychology, Professor of School Psychology at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln (UNL), Co-Director of the Bullying Research Network (, and Director of the Empowerment Initiative ( She is the principal investigator on the Target Bullying Intervention Project and has a long-standing track record working with schools and districts nationwide to reduce bullying behaviors. Dr. Swearer received her B.A. in Psychology from Swarthmore College in Swarthmore, PA; her M.S. in Special Education from the Pennsylvania State University in State College, PA; and her Ph.D. in School Psychology from the University of Texas at Austin in Austin, TX. For over the past decade, Dr. Swearer has developed and implemented a data-based decision-making model for responding to bullying among school-aged youth and has conducted staff trainings in elementary, middle, and high schools, with the goal of helping school personnel establish cost-effective and data-based strategies to reduce bullying behaviors. She is the co-author of Bullying Prevention and Intervention: Realistic Strategies for Schools (Swearer, Espelage, & Napolitano, 2009) and co-editor of the books Bullying in North American Schools, 2nd edition (Espelage & Swearer, 2011) and Handbook of Bullying in Schools: An International Perspective (Jimerson, Swearer, & Espelage, 2010). Dr. Swearer has authored over 100 book chapters and articles on the topics of bullying, depression, and anxiety in school-aged youth. Her Target Bullying Intervention Program was featured on CBS Sunday Morning in February 2011; she was an invited presenter at the White House Bullying Prevention Conference in March 2011; and she was a panel member at Harvard University of the launch of the Born This Way Foundation along with Lady Gaga, Oprah Winfrey, Deepak Chopra, and Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelieus in February 2012. In March 2012, Dr. Swearer was a featured bullying expert on Anderson Cooper’s daytime show, “Anderson.” Her work has been featured in numerous print, radio, and television outlets. As a licensed psychologist, Dr. Swearer is a supervising psychologist in the Child and Adolescent Therapy Clinic at UNL and is the former Director of the Nebraska Internship Consortium in Professional Psychology. Her career has been devoted to the intersection of research and practice and she is the Chair of the Research Advisory Board for Lady Gaga's Born This Way Foundation ( Additionally, Dr. Swearer is the co-editor of “Bullying @ School and Online,” an e-publication on ( designed to close the gap between research and practice. She can be followed on Twitter: @Bully_Research, @DrSueSwearer, @Empowerment_UNL and on Facebook: Bullying Research Network and Empowerment Initiative.

Dr. Paulette Cary, 2005, Private Practice Dr. Therese Korth, 2006, School Psychologist Dr. Wendy Gagnon-Sully, 2005, Psychologist, Rehabilitation Hospital Dr. Courtney Miller, 2006, Psychologist, Catholic Social Services Dr. Kisha Radliff, 2007, Associate Professor, The Ohio State University Dr. Kelly Love, 2008, Private Practice Dr. Rhonda Turner, 2008, Private Practice Dr. Jody Lieske, 2009, Private Practice Dr. Amanda Siebecker, 2010, Psychologist, Boys Town Dr. Jami Hughes, 2010, Psychologist, Private Practice Dr. Lynae Frerichs, 2010, Psychologist, Private Practice Dr. Cixin Wang, 2011, Assistant Professor, University of California, Riverside Dr. Adam Collins 2014, School Psychologist Nicki Pechous, 2001, School Psychologist, Omaha, NE Michelle Stone, 2001, School Psychologist, Omaha, NE Becky Turnder, 2002, School Psychologist, Millard, NE Laura Ronning, 2002, School Psychologist, Millard, NE Esther Sohn, 2004, School Psychologist, Ossing, NY Lisa Regier, 2007, School Psychologist, Hillsboro, KS Katie Bevins, 2007, School Psychologist, Crete, NE Kristin Foreman, 2007, School Psychologist, Lincoln, NE Christina Meints, 2008, School Psychologist, Omaha, NE Jill Behrends, 2009, School Psychologist, Seward, NE Jeanne Weidner, 2015, School Psychologist, Heartland, IA


  • The SSSP Board Meeting during the NASP Convention will be held Thursday, February 15, 2018 from 12 to 4 at Swissotel (connected to the Hyatt) MT069.
  • The SSSP Members' Meeting and Reception will be held Thursday, February 15, 2018 from 5 to 7 at Maggiano’s Downtown Chicago, 516 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654.