Stacy Overstreet

Stacy Overstreet - (Member)
Tulane University
Department of Psychology
2007 Percival Stern Tulane University
New Orleans, LA 70118
PhD in School, Tulane University, 1995
Mental health
Children and Disasters
Community Violence

Stacy Overstreet is a Professor in the Department of Psychology at Tulane University, where she has directed the School Psychology doctoral program for 8 years. She received her undergraduate degree from the University of New Orleans in Psychology and her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Tulane University in School Psychology. As part of her doctoral training, she completed a pediatric psychology internship at the University of Maryland Medical System.

Dr. Overstreet’s primary research interests have focused broadly on children at risk for maladjustment due to the presence of chronic stressors in their lives. Since arriving at Tulane in 1995, Dr. Overstreet has published numerous research articles and book chapters related to her work on trauma exposure among youth.

Deedrah Respess Harp, 1998, Psychologist, KIPP schools, Houston, TX.
Germaine Allison, 2003, School Psychologist, Bellport, NY.
Katherine Bevans, 2004, Research Assistant Prof., Univ. of Pennsylvania School of Med., Philadelphia, PA.
Yael Efreom, 2005, Specialist in Psychology Services, Optimal Health and Performance, Australia.
Deborah Kruglak Gilman, 2006, Psychologist, Relationship Resolutions, Pittsburgh, PA.
Samantha Morrison, 2007, Psychologist, New York Psychiatric Institute, Columbia University, New York, NY.
Tara Mathews, 2009, Psychologist, Johns Hopkins Children’s Center, Baltimore, MD.


  • Please save the date for our next Membership Meeting, which is scheduled during APA in Washington, DC. The meeting is 5 to 7 PM on Thursday, August 3rd at the Lebanese Taverna, 2641 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington, DC.
  • The RFA for the 2017 Shapiro Mid-Career Scholar Research Initiative is now available! Applications are due August 1, 2017 at 5pm Eastern Time. Donwload RPF
  • Congratulations to new board members Sandra Chafouleas (President-Elect), Jeffery P. Braden (Treasurer), and Gary Stoner (Secretary)!
  • Thank you for your service as board members Elaine Clark (Past-President), Margaret Semrud Clikeman (Treasurer), and Karen C. Stoiber (Secretary)!
  • Congratulations to new President Robert Volpe, and thank you Stacy Overstreet for your past service as President! View Current Board