Shane Jimerson

Shane Jimerson - (Member)
University of California, Santa Barbara
PhD in Educational Psychology, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1997
International school psychology
Program evaluation

Shane Jimerson is is a Professor at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Dr. Jimerson is a Nationally Certified School Psychologist and recognized by The American Academy of Experts in Traumatic Stress as a Board Certified Expert and Diplomat, and is included in their international registry of Experts in Traumatic Stress with specialization in working with children, families, and schools. Dr. Jimerson is currently President of Division 16 (School Psychology) of the American Psychological Association (2012), and Editor of the School Psychology Quarterly journal (2012-2016).

His scholarly publications and presentations have provided insights regarding; developmental pathways of school success and failure, the efficacy of early prevention and intervention programs (grade retention among others), school psychology internationally, developmental psychopathology, and school crisis prevention and intervention. Among over 250 publications, including 25 books, he is the lead-editor of The Handbook of School Violence and School Safety: International Research and Practice 2nd Edition (2012, Routledge), co-editor of Best Practices in School Crisis Prevention and Intervention 2nd Edition (2012, National Association of School Psychologists), lead-editor of The Handbook of Bullying in Schools: An International Perspective (2010, Routledge), The Handbook of International School Psychology (2007, SAGE Publishing), the lead editor of The Handbook of Response to Intervention: The Science and Practice of Assessment and Intervention (2007, Springer Science). He is the co-author of the book School Crisis Prevention and Intervention: The PREPaRE Model (2009, National Association of School Psychologists). He is also a co-author of a five-book grief support group curriculum series The Mourning Child Grief Support Group Curriculum (2001, Taylor and Francis), co-author of Identifying, Assessing, and Treating Autism at School (2006, Springer Science), co-author of Identifying, Assessing, and Treating Conduct Disorder at School (2008, Springer Science), co-author of Identifying, Assessing, and Treating PTSD at School (2008, Springer Science), and co-author of Identifying, Assessing, and Treating ADHD at School (2009, Springer Science).


  • The request for applications for the Spring 2015 SSSP Dissertation Grant Awards is now available. Applications are due March 9th at 5pm Eastern Time.
  • Visit the Early Career Forum: Click here to view.
  • The 2015 School Psychology Research Collaboration Conference will be held February 15-16 in Orlando, Florida.
  • The SSSP Membership Meeting and Reception will be held on Wednesday, February 18th at the Walt Disney World Swan Hotel, Orlando, FL. The Membership Meeting will be held from 5pm - 6pm in the Swan 2 Room on the Ballroom Level. The Reception will follow from 6pm - 7:30pm in the Lark Room on the Ballroom level.
  • ISPA/SSSP International School Psychology Research Initiative. Applications due on or before October 1 each year.
  • Congratulations to Stacy Overstreet, who has been announced as President-Elect of SSSP, with an appointment effective January 1, 2015!
  • Bill Erchul is ending a three year term as President-Elect (2012) of SSSP, President (2013), and Past-President (2014). Thank you, Bill, for your dedication and outstanding service to SSSP!
  • Four new members have joined SSSP! Congratulations to Gary Canivez, Steve Hooper, Kent McIntosh, and Julie Owens!
  • Congratulations to all of the award winners announced at the SSSP meeting at the 2014 APA Convention:
    • Susan M. Sheridan, Ji Hoon Ryoo, S. Andrew Garbacz, Gina M. Kunz, and Frances L. Chumney won the 2013 JSP Article of the Year award!
    • Brandy Clarke, S. Andrew Garbacz, and Natasha K. Segool won JSP Early Career Research Awards! Click here for more information on these projects.
    • Robin Codding and Robert Volpe are the first awardees of the Mid-Career Scholar Research Initiative!
    • Xianyou He and Xishan Huang received awards through through the SSSP-IPSA International Initiatives Committee!